Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Sunday, July 2 – 7:30 pm – Third of 3 B’s “BEETHOVEN”

July 2 @ 7:30 pm

St. Augustine Music Festival 3 Color Logo

A Night with Nigel

Sponsored by Friends of the St. Augustine Music Festival
Nigel Armstrong, Violin

Ludwig Van Beethoven     Violin Concerto Op. 61 (Rechtman arrangement)

I. Allegro ma non troppo
II. Larghetto
III. Allegro


Joseph Haydn                  Symphony No. 47 in G major “The Palindrome”

I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Menuet
IV. Presto

SAMF Chamber Orchestra



Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827) arr. Rechtman

Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61 (1806) arranged for nonet & solo violin

I. Allegro ma non troppo
II. Larghetto
III. Rondo

Ludwig van Beethoven was a German composer and pianist who bridged the gap between the classical and romantic eras. Beethoven is widely regarded as one of the most influential composers in Western music history, his many works set the tone for the next generation of

composers and are revered for their insistence on personal expression at all costs. He composed nine symphonies, numerous piano sonatas, string quartets, and other works. Despite suffering from progressive hearing loss, his later compositions reflect an uncompromising, experimental vision.

The Violin Concerto in D major, composed in 1806, is a significant work within the violin concerto repertoire and one of Beethoven’s most frequently performed works. It showcases the composer’s mature style and demonstrates his ability to blend soloistic virtuosity and individual expression with symphonic grandeur. The concerto comprises three movements: an expansive Allegro ma non troppo, a serene Larghetto, and a spritely Rondo finale. Notable features include the long orchestral introduction, the playful interaction between the solo violin and orchestra, and the integration of cadenzas (extended virtuosic passages for unaccompanied violin). This work represents a pivotal moment in the development of the genre, and display many of the most attractive qualities of Beethoven’s late works: mastery of form, expressive melodies, and harmonic richness.


Joseph Haydn (1732 – 1809)
Symphony No. 47 in G major ‘the Palindrome’ (1772)

I. Allegro
II. Un poco Adagio
III. Menuetto e trio ‘Miuetto al Roverso’
IV. Presto assai

Joseph Haydn was an influential Austrian composer of the Classical era. Born in Rohrau, Austria, Haydn became renowned for his innovative symphonies, string quartets, and choral works. He served as Kapellmeister (a sort of composer in residence/house composer) to the wealthy Esterházy family for almost three decades, where he composed prolifically. Haydn’s compositions, characterized by their melodic elegance and structural precision, played a significant role in shaping the development of the classical style, and foreshadowed musical developments of the next decades.

Symphony No. 47, also known as the ‘Palindrome’, was composed in 1772 during Haydn’s tenure as Kapellmeister to the Esterházy family. This symphony, although relatively less famous than some of Haydn’s other works, showcases his remarkable compositional skill and ingenuity.

The symphony consists of four movements, each displaying distinct musical characteristics. The first movement, marked by a lively and energetic tempo, introduces a memorable main theme that undergoes various transformations throughout the movement. The second movement, a slow and contemplative adagio, presents a beautiful and expressive melody that evokes a sense of melancholy and introspection.

The third movement, a playful and spirited minuet, features intricate rhythmic patterns and lively dance-like melodies. Haydn’s use of unexpected harmonic shifts adds an element of surprise and excitement to this movement. This movement gives the symphony its nickname by featuring a melody that is heard both forwards and in an exact mirror image – a simple compositional effect, that is in actuality very hard to achieve in a coherent musical way.

The final movement, a vibrant presto, brings the symphony to a thrilling conclusion with its rapid tempo, virtuosic passages, and lively exchanges between the different sections of the orchestra.

Symphony No. 47 exemplifies Haydn’s mastery of symphonic structure, his ability to craft memorable melodies, and his skillful manipulation of musical elements to create a captivating and engaging musical journey.

Nigel Armstrong, Violin

Nigel Armstrong, a graduate of the Colburn School and the Curtis Institute of Music, is emerging as a dynamic and creative artist both within and beyond the realm of classical music. From his musical beginnings as a member of “The Little Fiddlers” in Sonoma, California to collaborations with tango musicians in Argentina, he’s enjoyed using the violin in a versatile manner throughout his life.

As soloist Nigel has performed with orchestras such as the Dusseldorf Symphony, the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, the St. Petersburg Philharmonic, YOA Orchestra of the Americas, and the Boston Pops, and with conductors including Sir Neville Marriner and

Carlos Miguel Prieto. He received the 2nd Prize, the Ole Bull Prize, and the Nordheim Award at the 2010 Menuhin Competition Senior Division in Oslo, Norway, and got the 4th Prize plus the Prize for the Best Performance of the Commissioned Work (STOMP, by John Corigliano) at the XIV International Tchaikovsky Competition. As a chamber musician his concerts have taken him across the US and abroad–highlights have included opportunities to share the stage with the Tokyo String Quartet and pianist Jonathan Biss.

Since 2009 he’s appeared as concertmaster with the Colburn Orchestra, LA’s American Youth Symphony, the Curtis Symphony Orchestra, YOA Orchestra of the Americas, and the New York String Orchestra in their annual Carnegie hall performances. The St. Augustine Music Festival has been honored to have Nigel as an important member of our Chamber Orchestra in recent years and soloist for this concert.



July 2
7:30 pm